--

SDG education competition

Ready, set, future! (Zukunft, fertig, los!) – a sustainability education competition

As tomorrow’s knowledge bearers and decision makers, young people play a key role in implementing the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Goal 4 and the objectives set out in the German Sustainable Development Strategy in particular make it clear that young people should be considered and included in the process of implementing the SDGs.

  • Goal 4 calls for inclusive, equal, high-quality and lifelong education for all.
  • The German Sustainable Development Strategy focuses on increasing education and participation opportunities for all children and young people, strengthening continuing-education opportunities, and education for sustainable development.

With this in mind, the German Council for Sustainable Development launched its sustainability education competition “Ready, set, future!” (Zukunft, fertig, los!) in late summer 2017. The aim of the competition was to find good ideas for conveying the 17 SDGs. With the project, the Council targeted traditional education institutions, e.g. early-childhood settings, schools, vocational schools and higher-education institutions, non-formal and informal education providers and further- and continuing-education institutions. Via the project, the Council also addressed potential opinion shapers from the political arena, business, civil society, academia and the media.

Almost 100 entries were submitted. The jury – made up of Council members Alexander Bassen, Ulla Burchardt, Kathrin Menges and Dominik Naab plus Susanne Salz, former event manager for the UN SDG Action Campaign – chose the best competition entries and nominated a total of 22 contributions (German).

These ranged from SDG apps, simulation games and video productions to seminars, sponsored runs and training SDG Scouts. Most of the entries came from higher-education institutions, associations, youth groups and foundations. They were aimed primarily at schools and higher-education institutions. The nominees come from Bavaria, Berlin, Hamburg, Hesse, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Schleswig-Holstein.

On 30 January 2018 the nominees had the opportunity to present their ideas to selected sustainability experts from the business world, the political sphere and society at the event “Speed dating for #SDGeducation”.

The sustainability education competition “Ready, set, future!” (Zukunft, fertig, los!) contributes towards implementing the Global Action Programme on Education for Sustainable Development.

Logo UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramm Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung

SDG-Bildungswettbewerb

Zukunft, fertig, los! – Bildungswettbewerb für Nachhaltigkeit

Als Wissens- und Entscheidungsträger von morgen spielt die Jugend bei der Umsetzung der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele (englisch: Sustainable Development Goals, kurz SDGs) eine wesentliche Rolle. Insbesondere das Nachhaltigkeitsziel 4 und Zielformulierungen in der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zeigen, dass die Jugend bei der Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele mitgedacht und eingebunden werden sollte:

  • Das Nachhaltigkeitsziel 4 fordert eine inklusive, gleichberechtigte, hochwertige und lebenslange Bildung für alle.
  • In der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie stehen die Erhöhung der Bildungs- und Teilhabechancen für alle Kinder und Jugendliche, die Stärkung von Weiterbildungsangeboten sowie Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung im Fokus.

Vor diesem Hintergrund startete der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung im Spätsommer 2017 das Projekt „Zukunft, fertig, los! – Bildungswettbewerb für Nachhaltigkeit“. Gesucht wurden gute Ideen zur Vermittlung der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele. Der Rat richtete sich mit dem Projekt an Akteure aus den klassischen Bildungsbereichen, d.h. der frühkindlichen Bildung, Schulen, Berufs- und Hochschulen, der non-formalen und informellen Bildung sowie der Fort- und Weiterbildung. Zudem adressierte er mit dem Projekt potenzielle Multiplikatoren aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Wissenschaft und Medien.

Insgesamt wurden knapp 100 Beiträge eingereicht. Die Jury des SDG-Bildungswettbewerbs, bestehend aus den RNE-Ratsmitgliedern Alexander Bassen, Ulla Burchardt, Kathrin Menges und Dominik Naab sowie Susanne Salz, ehemalige Veranstaltungsmanagerin bei der UN SDG Action Campaign, wählte die besten Beiträge des Wettbewerbs aus und nominierte insgesamt 22 Beiträge.

Die Ideen reichen von SDG-Apps, Planspielen und Videoproduktionen über Seminare bis hin zu Sponsorenläufen und der Ausbildung von SDG-Scouts. Sie stammen überwiegend von Hochschulen, Vereinen, Jugendgruppen und Stiftungen und adressieren in erster Linie Schulen und Hochschulen. Die Nominierten kommen aus Bayern, Berlin, Hamburg, Hessen, Niedersachsen, NRW, Rheinland-Pfalz und Schleswig-Holstein.

Am 30. Januar 2018 hatten die Nominierten die Möglichkeit, ausgewählte Nachhaltigkeitsexpertinnen und -experten aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft im Rahmen der Veranstaltung Speed-Dating für #SDGBildung des Nachhaltigkeitsrates von ihren Ideen zu überzeugen.

Das Projekt „Zukunft, fertig, los! – Bildungswettbewerb für Nachhaltigkeit“ ist ein Beitrag zur Umsetzung des Weltaktionsprogramms Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung.